Music to My Ears

I listen to a lot of things. One might even call me an audiophile. Music and lyrics (not the movie!) have been a huge part of my life. As an introvert, music lets me express myself like nothing else. Music has a language of its own. Every outland with its own language and culture conveys bursts of emotions in their music which undoubtedly awoke the linguist in me. Like Aldous Huxley said, “After silence, that which comes nearest to expressing the inexpressible is music.”

I’d be lying, if I said I have no favourites. Everybody has a revered genre – a genre that one dogs the footsteps of when grazed by an impulse to listen to music. Be it pop, rock, or even the 21st century EDM bandwagon. My preferences have gone back and forth just like climate change. Beethoven was a pleasant surprise introduced by Windows XP Media Player, thanks to what emerged my love for classical music. I met Mozart and Bach in my mid-teens when rebellion and angst had caught a hold of me. Grunge bands like Pearl Jam and heavy metal bands like Bullet For My Valentine were on the top of my playlist. It was when I grew out of the latter, that I fell in love with The Beatles, Pink Floyd and Led Zeppelin.

Music has a powerful impact on our mood. Whether or not your life is like a heartwarming romance or a thriller with plot twists. In a way, everyone has a song for every occasion overwhelmed with emotions. Sometimes a particular song we listen to at one moment might subconsciously be the one we cling to at similar moments. I’ve encountered several déjà-vus which have left me with nostalgia, like a lullaby that takes you back to childhood in the sweet confines of your home. Music is mystical in these subtle ways.

I listen to a lot of things; the sound of rustling leaves, the pitter-patter of rain, ocean waves, chirping birds at dawn, the crackling of fire or wind chimes in the dead of the night – music is all around us, all we have to do is listen.

Comments!

